When upgrading your device or simply returning an old device to the University, it must be wiped clear of all data. This is to ensure University data is not compromised. It also allows us to recycle the device. Below are the steps you should take to wipe your phone of all data. Remember to backup, remove accounts and lock screens, then wipe the device.








At this point, your phone should be completely reset just like it was when it was new. What is important is that since you took the steps to remove your account before the device was wiped of data, you have enabled someone to re-use your device. We recycle these to ensure our devices are not just sitting in a landfill somewhere.
When you have completed this task, you bcan make the decision about what to do with the device. Your department owns the device, so you can either keep it in the department to be used as backup or you can send it to us for recycling. We are located in Jabara Hall, room 027 (basement, north side). You can also sned them to us at campus box 061.
Please be aware that any device that is not wiped by the previoius user will be destroyed. If you are having trouble with any of these steps, please call us and walk through it with us.
WSU Telecommunications